Reading for fun

I’ve been on a Janet Evanovich kick lately.

It started when I listened to the audiobook for Twelve Sharp (Stephanie Plum, No. 12)
on the trip to Oregon a couple of weeks ago. Then I powered my way through Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, No. 14), listening to the audiobook in the car and reading my paperback at home.

(Yes, I know I skipped Lean Mean Thirteen (Stephanie Plum, No. 13), but I’d listened to that audiobook a while ago, and I really wanted to get on to Fearless Fourteen.)

I bought Finger Lickin’ Fifteen (Stephanie Plum Novels) when I was in Oregon, and I’m about a third of the way through the book, thanks to a thunderstorm last night that kept me off the computer and out on our covered deck enjoying a cool breeze.

I enjoy the heck out of Stephanie Plum, her odd relations, co-workers, and friends, not to mention the guys in her life. I read a lot to study craft – story structure, plotting, characterization – and thanks to Janet Evanovich (and my recently discovered find Anne George) I’ve included studying humor on my craft list. It helps when I think my humor’s gone too far over the top in my stories to remember that my over the top isn’t nearly as over the top as it could be, and there’s nothing wrong with that. Reading – and writing – for fun is just plain fun.

Leave a Reply

