Ch..ch..ch…changes!

Last weekend I went to World Fantasy Convention in San Jose. A couple of firsts for me, both attending WFC and traveling to San Jose. I enjoyed both immensely.

But what’s that got to do with the subject of this post? Well, let me tell you.

Saturday afternoon, Louisa Swann, her son Brandon, Brenda Cooper and I had a marvelous, informative and eye-opening chat with Mike Stackpole about how writers can utilize the web in these days of rapidly changing content delivery systems. (My, I almost sound like I know what I’m talking about there, don’t I?) What I realized at the end of that chat is 1) I have a bit of learning to do, and 2) this website’s going to need a bit of a redesign.

Now years ago I had an old Tripod website for fun stuff. I created graphics, uploaded files, wrote some simple HTML pages that linked this to that to the other. Somewhere along the way, along with abandoning the site when I moved on from that fun stuff to new fun stuff, I also abandoned my rudimentary webpage skillz for other things that moved front and center to my brain. I’m going to have to excavate all that knowledge and add in a few more skills in redoing this site, but hey – should be fun!

What can you expect to see here in the future? For one, more frequent updates. You’ll also see story excerpts, snippets from things I’m working on, some new free (yes, she said free!) fiction, and if I can figure out how to do it (dusting off those unused skillz), you’ll be able to purchase stories directly off this site. I’ll also have the occasional contest where you can win actual free stuff.

It’s all a work in progress. Most things in life are, and that’s the fun part.

Leave a Reply

